An Introduction

Hello, readers! Before I post any creative work, let me introduce myself: My name is Lee Ann Kostempski. I’m currently a senior at Canisius College, finishing my degree in English and Creative Writing with a minor in Classics. After I graduate, I will pursue a Master’s degree in Library Sciences. Writers who inspire me include Elizabeth Cunningham, Clive Barker, J.K. Rowling, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Tamora Pierce, George R.R. Martin, Jane Austen, J.R.R. Tolkien, Christopher Paolini, Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, Chuck Wendig, and C.S. Lewis. I particularly enjoy writing fantasy and surrealism, with a strong focus on diverse and complex characters. Though I am used to writing novel-length pieces, I have recently taken an interest in short stories, and I subscribed to both The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction and Clarkesworld. One of my poems was recently accepted for publication in the Canisius College literary magazine, The Quadrangle, which will be unveiled on April 15 of this year. I plan to take many pictures at the ceremony, and am looking forward to sharing them and my poem here.

In this coming April, I intend to take part in Camp NaNoWriMo, with a goal of 25,000 words; I would go for the usual 50,000 but I have other work for my Creative Writing capstone to do. I will be working on a novel about a group of (mostly) women who come together during an apocalypse and struggle to survive. The inspiration came to me when I realized, in most apocalypse movies, the men take charge while the women serve as second-in-command at best. So I wanted to change that.

If you are also a writer (particularly of fantasy, surrealism, or horror), I would love to follow your blog. Feel free to contact me. I am available on Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads.

Other quick facts about me include:

  • I am 22 years old
  • I learned to read before Pre-K, and started writing soon after
  • I am a proud feminist
  • I enjoy video games, particularly BioWare ones
  • I have a crazy cat named Butterscotch, who may occasionally make appearances here on The Sword and the Keyboard (I take many, many pictures of his antics)

For the most part I will be sharing my fiction (and maybe poetry) on this website. Occasionally, I may share book reviews, nonfiction, or personal blog posts.

Thank you for following me!

3 thoughts on “An Introduction

Leave a Reply

