Quadrangle #63 Unveiling: A New Experience

I’ve been relatively quiet on this blog for several days straight, mainly because I’m still new to blogging about writing and new to sharing work and whatnot on the internet. Also because I’ve been bustin’ my butt working through several drafts of a short story that I have to submit as a part of my portfolio for my senior capstone by the end of the semester.

But tonight I actually have something to write about!

As I announced a few weeks ago, Canisius College (where I’m currently a senior) publishes a literary journal every year called The Quadrangle, and tonight was the unveiling of the 63rd issue. Two of my classmates, Hanna Etu and Tori Claflin, were co-editors on this year’s issue. It’s absolutely beautiful (honestly my favorite one so far, and I’m not just saying that because of my personal bias. The cover looks awesome). I’m honored to have one of my own poems, “Tea With Ms. G Reaper,” published in it!

And, as promised, I have some (rough cell phone) photos of the issue, my own piece, and the covers. There was a professional photographer there, and once his pictures go up on the Canisius Facebook page, maybe I’ll share a few of those shots too.

So here are some of the photos I’ve taken over the course of the night:

The front cover
The front cover
The first page featuring my poem, "Tea With Ms. G. Reaper"
The first page featuring my poem, “Tea With Ms. G Reaper”
The second page featuring my poem, "Tea With Ms. G. Reaper"
The second page featuring my poem, “Tea With Ms. G Reaper”
Want to read more, and take a look at some of the art inside? Go to our new website!
Want to read more, and take a look at some of the art inside? Go to our new website!
The back cover of the 63rd issue of The Quadrangle, and the list of contributors
The back cover of the 63rd issue of The Quadrangle, and the list of contributors

Besides being fun, I learned a lot about presentation at this event. Tori and Hanna asked me to be one of the readers. Before this, I’d never shared my own creative work in public before. Oh, I’d done piano recitals (but not of songs I wrote myself), I’d read at holiday readings (where I read Poe, or Lewis, or some other great writer), and I’ve done writing workshops where the entire class has picked apart my writing; but I never got up in front of a crowd of OVER 100 PEOPLE (like, holy crud, that blows my mind) and read my work aloud. I was very much a nervous wreck, but I was surrounded by friends and family, and a great community of creators, and knowing that the Quadrangle staff loved my poem enough to feature it made me feel a little more comfortable. I think I did well, although I have to teach myself to take a breath and stop my voice from shaking before I dive into reading. “Focus on the words,” one of my writer-friends in my Camp NaNoWriMo cabin told me last night. Unfortunately, I didn’t see that advice until I logged onto the NaNo site after I got home tonight. But I have another, much smaller reading coming up on the 28th for my capstone course, and I’ll definitely keep that in mind.

Congratulations to my fellow contributors! If you’re interested in looking at more of the works featured in this year’s Quadrangle, or previous issues, feel free to go to its BRAND NEW website, canisiusquadrangle.com.

Thank you for reading! And as always, happy writing.

One thought on “Quadrangle #63 Unveiling: A New Experience

Leave a Reply

