A Quick Update

Hey, readers and writers!

So I know I’ve been pretty inactive the last month and a half or so. Sorry about that.

As it turns out, I didn’t finish Camp NaNoWriMo back in April because I realized something pretty huge with the novel I was editing: it was headed in a pretty cruddy direction and got too bogged down in side plots. By 75,000 words, I was nowhere near resolving the main plotline. So I decided to restart.

Well, not entirely! I still kept quite a few key scenes. But there was a character I’d added in edits that I wasn’t really a fan of, so I scrapped her. And then I realized I had a love plot going on that didn’t quite… mesh; there was no chemistry, so I scrapped that too.

I’m back at about 47,000 words now, but until I get much closer to my goal of at least 100,000, I don’t intend to make many posts here on The Sword and the Keyboard. I’ll still be doing my Diverse Book of the Month posts on the first of each month! (There’s one coming up this Thursday.) But the writing advice posts are on hold until further notice.

Don’t worry — I will return eventually! Hopefully within the next month or two. If you have anything in particular you want me to write about when I come back, you’re welcome to leave a comment.

Until then, happy reading and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

